Your Global Automation Partner

SPE and APL: Focus on Connectivity 4.0

The future of industrial communication is being defined today. Be a part of it and join the discussion in our LinkedIn group!

JOIN IN NOW

Single Pair Ethernet (SPE) and Advanced Physical Layer (APL)

Communication and power supply over one line. More power, higher data rates and, with APL, high bandwidths in hazardous areas  — that's what the industrial communication standards of the future promise.

SPE and APL will shape the future of industrial communication. The exact form this will take is currently being discussed and defined in the development departments of automation and connectivity companies. We would like to invite you to help shape the technology and to talk to us about your requirements and our solution offerings. What expectations, hopes and wishes do you associate with a new connectivity standard for the industry? Let us know and join our LinkedIn group "Single Pair Ethernet in Focus". Our experts look forward to exchanging ideas with you. 

We need to talk — about these topics

SMART SENSORS

SPE/APL promise smart connectivity for sensors and actuators. But should every device be smart? Will the simple switch without intelligence survive in the long term? And what will happen to classic Ethernet and IO-Link when SPE becomes established? Do you share with us your expectations for SPE in terms of smart sensors and actuators?
 

SWITCHES AND INFRASTRUCTURE

SPE and APL will revolutionize connectivity and related infrastructure. But how does the unification of communication and supply lines affect infrastructure devices such as managed switches or power supplies. What are your expectations for SPE/APL in this context?
 

COMMUNICATION DISTANCES AND TECHNOLOGY RESTRICTIONS

Every technology has its limits—so have SPE and APL. Share with us your expectations regarding the new communication standard in terms of reach, power, and other technology restrictions.
 

POWER OVER DATA LINE AND SAFETY

Integration of power and data transmission over one line is attractive. But it gets complicated when it comes to safety signals. What are your expectations regarding a safe SPE and APL communication?
 

Our Experts

Aurel Buda

"Many applications will be even easier to implement with SPE than with IO-Link and standard Ethernet." 

Aurel Buda is Head of Product Management Fieldbus Technology at Turck. From his time at the Laboratory for Software Engineering and Computer Networks at Bochum University of Applied Sciences, he is familiar with both the theoretical discourse and the practical challenges around Industrial Ethernet.

Sai Seidel-Sridhavan

"SPE opens up new ways of end-to-end communication from the sensor to the cloud and back." 

Sai Seidel-Sridhavan is Manager Product Marketing at Turck. As IO-Link expert, he is aware of the opportunities and challenges involved in establishing a cross-vendor communication standard.

Jorge Garcia

"APL promises to be the ultimate problem solver for the challenges of Process Automation 4.0." 

Jorge Garcia is Product Manager for Fieldbus Technology Process Automation at Turck. With over 20 years of experience in development and customer projects at Turck, he has seen some fieldbusses come and go in the process industry.

Single Pair Ethernet and Advanced Physical Layer

Two standards that have the potential to shape a new era of industrial communication, transcending known limitations. Let us shape this era together.

Innovation Weeks at #DigitalInnovationPark

In the run-up to SPS 2021, we will continuously present latest trade fair highlights for smart automation and IIoT in our digital showcase. In addition, you will also find a lot more information on topics with which we are driving forward the digitalization of your production and logistics. 

to top

Your Global Automation Partner

SPE und APL: Connectivity 4.0 im Fokus

Die Zukunft der Industriekommunikation wird heute definiert. Seien Sie ein Teil davon und diskutieren in unserer LinkedIn-Gruppe mit!

JETZT MITGESTALTEN

Single Pair Ethernet (SPE) und
Advanced Physical Layer (APL)

Kommunikation und Stromversorgung über eine Leitung. Mehr Leistung, höhere Datenraten und mit APL auch hohe Bandbreiten in explosionsgefährdeten Bereichen – das versprechen die Industriekommunikationsstandards der Zukunft

SPE und APL werden die Zukunft der Industriekommunikation prägen. In welcher Form genau,  wird heute in den Entwicklungsabteilungen von Automatisierungs- und Connectivity-Unternehmen diskutiert und definiert. Wir laden Sie gerne ein, die Technologie mitzugestalten und mit uns über Ihre Anforderungen und unsere Lösungsangebote zu sprechen.
Welche Erwartungen, Hoffnungen und Wünsche verbinden Sie mit einem neuen Connectivity-Standard für die Industrie? Lassen Sie es uns wissen und treten Sie unserer englischsprachigen LinkedIn-Gruppe „Single Pair Ethernet in Focus“ bei. Unsere Experten freuen sich auf den Austausch mit Ihnen.

Wir müssen reden – und zwar über diese Themen

SMARTE SENSOREN

SPE/APL versprechen smarte Connectivity für Sensorik und Aktorik. Doch soll jedes Gerät smart sein? Wird der einfache Schalter ohne Intelligenz dauerhaft überleben? Und was passiert mit klassischem Ethernet und IO-Link, wenn SPE sich durchsetzt? Teilen Sie mit uns ihre Erwartungen an SPE im Bezug auf smarte Sensorik und Aktorik?
 

SWITCHES UND INFRASTRUKTUR

SPE und APL werden Anschlusstechnik und die zugehörige Infrastruktur revolutionieren. Doch wie wirkt sich die Vereinigung von Kommunikations- und Versorgungs-Leitungen auf Infrastrukturgeräte wie Managed Switches oder Power-Versorgungen aus. Welche Erwartungen an SPE/APL haben Sie in diesem Zusammenhang?
 

DIE GRENZEN DER TECHNOLOGIE

Jede Technologie hat ihre Grenzen, so auch SPE und APL. Teilen Sie uns Ihre Erwartungen an den neuen Kommunikationsstandard in Bezug auf Reichweite, Leistung und andere technologische Einschränkungen mit.
 

POWER OVER DATA LINE UND SAFETY

Die Übertragung von Energie- und Daten über eine Leitung ist attraktiv. Aber es wird kompliziert, wenn es um Sicherheitssignale geht. Was sind Ihre Erwartungen an eine sichere SPE- und APL-Kommunikation?
 

Unsere Experten

Aurel Buda

„Viele Anwendungen werden sich mit SPE noch besser umsetzen lassen, als mit IO-Link und Standard-Ethernet.“ 

Aurel Buda ist Leiter Produkt­ma­nagement Feldbustechnik bei Turck. Aus seiner Zeit am Labor für Softwaretechnik und Rechnernetze der Hochschule Bochum kennt er sowohl den theoretischen Diskurs um Industrial Ethernet als auch seine praktischen Herausforderungen. 

Sai Seidel-Sridhavan

„Mit SPE eröffnen sich neue Wege der durchgängigen Kommunikation vom Sensor bis zur Cloud und zurück.“ 

Sai Seidel-Sridhavan ist Manager Produktmarketing bei Turck. Als IO-Link-Experte weiß er um die Chancen und Herausforderungen bei der Etablierung eines hersteller­über­greifenden Kommunikationsstandards.

Jorge Garcia

„APL verspricht der ultimative Problemlöser für die Herausforderungen der Prozess­automatisierung 4.0 zu werden.“ 

Jorge Garcia ist Produktmanager für Feldbustechnik in der Prozess­auto­matisierung bei Turck. Mit über 20 Jahren Erfahrung in Entwicklungs- und Kundenprojekten bei Turck hat er schon so manchen Feldbus in der Prozessindustrie kommen und gehen sehen.

Single Pair Ethernet und Advanced Physical Layer

Zwei Standards, die das Potenzial haben, eine neue Ära der industriellen Kommunikation zu prägen und dabei die bekannten Grenzen überwinden werden. Lassen Sie uns diese Ära gemeinsam gestalten.

Innovation Weeks im #DigitalInnovationPark

Innovation Weeks im #DigitalInnovationPark

Im Vorfeld der SPS 2021 präsentieren wir Ihnen in unserem digitalen Schaufenster laufend aktuelle Messe-Highlights für smarte Automatisierung und IIoT. Darüber hinaus finden Sie dort auch viele weitere Informationen zu Themen, mit denen wir die Digitalisierung Ihrer Produktion und Logistik vorantreiben.
nach oben