Your Global Automation Partner

SMART RETROFIT: UPDATE YOUR MAINTENANCE PROCESSES

Customized condition monitoring solutions using precise sensors and secure wireless networks

LEARN MORE

Condition Monitoring in Existing Systems

Are the motors for your hydraulic pumps in working order? Does your CNC machine need refilling with cooling lubricant? Is it currently the right temperature in your storage room? You can now access this information from anywhere at any time. The high-performance technology behind this is quick and easy to retrofit, and does not interfere with operations in your plant.

Enabler for predictive maintenance

Instead of reacting to a failure at a later stage or servicing components on a regular basis, maintenance personnel can now permanently request information on the condition of machines. With effective monitoring, you create the conditions for predictive maintenance. From real-time monitoring to proactive maintenance.

Standalone systems save resources

The retrofit solution from Turck can even be used in industrial plants that do not yet fully support sensor-based condition monitoring. You can easily monitor the condition of your machines in an independent system and send data wirelessly via a proprietary wireless network if required. All the necessary devices are easy to install and set up.

How can this condition data be used?

The short answer: in a variety of ways. Coupling thresholds with a tower light, displaying collected machine data on a central HMI or in the cloud, receiving information about irregularities automatically via SMS or transferring values to a company's own automation environment. 

Find out more about the user-friendly condition monitoring concept for existing systems.

Flexible Brownfield Development

Quick retrofitting

Wireless sensors can be easily installed in the field, often using a magnetic mount. If required, the devices in the DX80 wireless system can also be run on batteries. Not only does this reduce the time required for installation, it also enables operators to place sensors and transmission modules in areas that are difficult to access.

Autonomous systems

Retrofit without interfering with ongoing processes: The condition monitoring system combines sensor technology, wireless transmission and data analysis, and runs autonomously without having any impact on operations in your plant. If required, you can also transfer the values to your own automation environment and view them there.

From a Sensor Signal to Coordinated Maintenance

Want to analyze machine readings locally or send them to your end devices from the cloud? You can — thanks to sensors and wireless technology for condition monitoring

Use data locally

In the machine environment, sensors monitor different parameters such as vibration, temperature, and humidity. By using ultrasound, they can even detect the filling level. Transmission modules of the proprietary DX80 wireless system send this data to an associated gateway. Thanks to the connection to the TX700 HMI control unit, maintenance engineers can view all the condition data in one place. 

An Ethernet connection to the company network opens up even more possibilities, including monitoring via WebVisu, automated e-mail notifications or data integration into your company's automation environment.

The journey to the cloud

The TCG20 gateway can also be used instead of the HMI control unit to process the sensor readings from the field. The gateway encrypts the data and sends it to the cloud via Wi-Fi or the cellular network. Users can choose between a locally hosted (on-premises) solution and a public cloud from which end devices anywhere in the world can retrieve data. 

The gateway is able to carry out decentralized analysis of the data, but data can also be analyzed in the cloud. Turck's industrial cloud allows you to create a personalized dashboard, view past trends, and configure automated emails or SMS messages. The TCG20 gateway also supports the Amazon Web Services and Microsoft Azure cloud platforms.

Whitepaper: Condition Monitoring in Existing Systems

Turck's free white paper provides you with more in-depth information about the possibilities of condition monitoring in brownfield systems. You can also find out more about the different ways of collecting data and how to make best use of this data for your intended purposes.

Real Life Example: Condition Monitoring in Three Applications

Sensors can make the maintenance work considerably easier – thanks to their precision, consistency and versatility. With wireless data transmission and cloud services, condition monitoring gains additional flexibility and efficiency. Three applications illustrate the advantages of the system:

Measuring the vibration levels and temperature in motors

Industrial plants often have a large number of motors, and many of them are in areas that are difficult to access. To ensure that they are alerted to imminent damage as soon as possible, maintenance engineers can attach the QM30VT1 vibration and temperature sensor directly to the engine block using a magnet. The condition data is transmitted across the wireless network and displayed centrally on Turck's TX700 HMI.

Monitoring filling levels in CNC machines

In many cases, workers still have to check the machine themselves to determine the amount of cooling lubricant in a CNC mill. This is often a very laborious task. Turck offers a more practical solution: using a K50UX diffuse mode ultrasonic sensor, the DX80 wireless system and the Turck cloud gateway to collect filling level data from machines in the cloud.

Checking the humidity and temperature in storage rooms

Applications where food is involved are often subject to strict regulations. The M12MFTH temperature and humidity sensor can be connected to a battery-powered DX80 wireless module to continuously monitor and document measurement data in a warehouse. The data from the sensor can be transmitted from hundreds of meters away—first to the DX80 gateway, and then to the cloud thanks to Turck's TCG20 gateway.

More about Technologies and Products

Reliable condition monitoring systems are made possible thanks to key technologies such as wireless signal transmission, IO-Link and Turck's multiprotocol Ethernet for wired solutions – not to mention compatible hardware such as high-performance sensors, fieldbus devices, and wireless systems. Find out more about the technology behind the solutions and about Turck's extensive product range.

Ask an Expert

Got any questions? Then contact our experts for anything and everything to do with optimizing your condition monitoring process. Fill out the contact form to request the advice you need.

Dr. Bernhard Grimm

Director Vertical and Product Marketing

Please select a salutation

Please enter your first name

Please enter your last name

Please enter the name of your company

Please enter your e-mail address

Please enter your phone number

Please read the privacy policy and confirm your acceptance using the checkbox

* required

Your Global Automation Partner

SMART NACHGERÜSTET: UPDATE FÜR IHRE INSTANDHALTUNG

Maßgeschneiderte Zustandsüberwachung über präzise Sensorik und sichere Funknetze

MEHR ERFAHREN

Condition Monitoring in Bestandsanlagen

Wie ist es um die Motoren Ihrer Hydraulikpumpen bestellt? Muss Kühlschmiermittel an einer CNC-Maschine nachgefüllt werden? Und liegt die Temperatur des Lagerraums im Soll-Wert? An diese Informationen gelangen Sie nun jederzeit, wo immer Sie möchten. Die leistungsstarke Technik dahinter ist schnell und komfortabel nachgerüstet – völlig unabhängig vom Betrieb Ihrer Anlage.

Anstatt nachträglich auf einen Ausfall zu reagieren oder Komponenten turnusmäßig zu warten, können Instandhalter nun permanent Informationen über den Gesundheitszustand von Maschinen abfragen. So lässt sich ein effektives Monitoring und Reporting einrichten.

Stand-alone-System spart Ressourcen
Bei der Retrofit-Lösung von Turck ist es unerheblich, dass Ihre Industrieanlage womöglich noch keine Voraussetzungen für ein sensorgestütztes Condition Monitoring bietet! Zentral ist das unkomplizierte Montieren und Einrichten der Geräte. Dabei können Sie die Zustandsüberwachung in einem unabhängigen System vornehmen und Daten auf Wunsch auch drahtlos über ein proprietäres Funknetz versenden.

Wie können diese Zustandsdaten genutzt werden?
Die kurze Antwort: enorm vielseitig. Schwellwerte mit einer Signalleuchte koppeln, gesammelte Maschinendaten auf einem zentralen HMI oder in der Cloud anzeigen, automatisch via SMS über Unregelmäßigkeiten informiert werden oder Werte in die unternehmenseigene Automatisierungswelt übertragen.
Erfahren Sie mehr über das anwenderfreundliche Condition-Monitoring-Konzept für Bestandsanlagen.

Flexible Erweiterung im Brownfield-Bereich

Schnell nachgerüstet

Wireless-Sensoren lassen sich im Feld einfach per Magnet montieren. Bei Bedarf können Anwender zudem die Geräte des DX80-Funksystems über Batterien betreiben. Damit wird zum einen der Zeitaufwand für die Installation reduziert. Zum anderen können Sie die Sensoren und Sendemodule auch in schwer erreichbaren Bereichen in Betrieb nehmen.

Autarke Systeme

Nachrüsten, ohne in laufende Prozesse einzugreifen: Das Condition-Monitoring-System aus Sensorik, Funkübertragung und Datenauswertung ist autark und hat keinerlei Wechselwirkungen mit dem Betrieb Ihrer Anlage. Bei Bedarf können Sie die Werte aber ebenso in Ihre eigene Automatisierungsumgebung übertragen und dort anzeigen.

Vom Sensorsignal zur abgestimmten Instandhaltung


Maschinenwerte lokal auswerten oder über die Cloud auf Ihre Endgeräte senden? Möglichkeiten der Zustandsüberwachung mithilfe von Sensor- und Funktechnik

Daten lokal nutzen

Im Maschinenumfeld überwachen Sensoren unterschiedliche Werte wie Vibration, Temperatur und Feuchte oder, per Ultraschall, den Füllstand. Diese Daten gelangen über Sendemodule des proprietären DX80-Funksystems zu einem zugehörigen Gateway. Dank der Verbindung mit dem HMI-Bediengerät können Instandhalter auf Turcks TX700 sämtliche Zustandsdaten an einem Ort kontrollieren.

Angebunden an das Firmennetzwerk über Ethernet eröffnen sich weitere Möglichkeiten, darunter: ein Monitoring über die WebVisu, ein automatischer Versand von E-Mail-Benachrichtigungen oder eine Datenintegration in die Automatisierungswelt Ihres Unternehmens.

Der Weg in die Cloud

Anstelle des HMI-Bediengeräts kann auch das Gateway TCG20 die Sensorwerte aus dem Feld weitverarbeiten. Via WLAN oder dem Mobilfunknetz sendet es die Daten verschlüsselt in die Cloud. Anwender haben dabei die Wahl zwischen einer lokal-gehosteten Lösung (on-premises) oder einer Public-Cloud, bei der Daten weltweit auf Endgeräten abgerufen werden können.

Das Gateway ist imstande, Daten dezentral auszuwerten. Alternativ geschieht dies in der Cloud. Über Turcks Industrial Cloud können Sie sich ein individuelles Dashboard zusammenstellen, historische Trends auslesen und den automatischen Versand von E-Mail- oder SMS-Hinweisen konfigurieren. Vom TCG20-Gateway werden alternativ auch die Cloud-Plattformen Amazon WebServices oder Microsoft Azure unterstützt.

Whitepaper: Condition Monitoring in Bestandsanlagen

Tiefer gehende Kenntnisse über die Möglichkeiten der Zustandsüberwachung in Brownfield-Anlagen vermittelt Ihnen Turcks kostenfreies White Paper. Dort erfahren Sie mehr über die unterschiedlichen Arten, Daten zu gewinnen und optimal zu Ihren Zwecken zu nutzen.

Aus der Praxis: Zustandsüberwachung in drei Anwendungen

Sensoren können die Arbeit der Instandhaltung erheblich erleichtern – ihrer Präzision, Konstanz und Verwendungsvielfalt sei Dank. Mit kabelloser Datenübertragung und den Cloud-Diensten gewinnt das Condition Monitoring zusätzlich an Flexibilität und Effizienz. Drei Anwendungen verdeutlichen die Vorteile des Systems:

Vibration und Temperatur an Motoren messen

In Industrieanlagen werden Motoren häufig in großer Zahl und teilweise in schwer erreichbaren Bereichen verwendet. Damit die Instandhaltung frühzeitig Hinweise auf drohende Schäden erhält, kann sie den Vibrations- und Temperatursensor QM30VT1 per Magnet direkt am Motorblock montieren. Die Zustandsdaten werden im Funknetz übertragen und zentral auf Turcks HMI TX700 angezeigt.

Füllstand in CNC-Maschine überwachen

Wie viel Kühlschmiermittel sich in einer CNC-Fräse befindet, müssen Mitarbeiter vielerorts noch an der Maschine selbst überprüfen. Dies kann mit hohem Aufwand einhergehen. Praktikabler ist eine Lösung, bei der die Füllstand-Daten von Maschinen in der Cloud gesammelt werden – mit der Kombination aus K50UX-Ultraschallreflexionstaster, DX80-Funksystem und dem Turck Cloud Gateway.

Feuchte und Temperatur in Lagerräumen kontrollieren

Im Umgang mit Lebensmitteln gelten oft strenge Vorschriften. Um Messdaten in einer Lagerhalle konstant zu überwachen und zu dokumentieren, kann der Temperatur- und Feuchte-Sensor M12MFTH mit einem batteriebetriebenen DX80-Funkmodul verbunden werden. Über hunderte Meter gelangen die Daten des Sensors zunächst zum DX80-Gateway und danach dank Turcks TCG20-Gateway in die Cloud.

Mehr über Technologien und Produkte

Die Möglichmacher hinter zuverlässigen Condition-Monitoring-Systemen sind Schlüsseltechnologien wie die drahtlose Signalübertragung oder IO-Link und Multiprotokoll-Ethernet für kabelgebundene Lösungen. Ebenso sind es die passenden Produkte, etwa leistungsstarke Sensoren, Feldbusgeräte oder Funksysteme. Informieren Sie sich über technische Hintergründe und Turcks umfangreiches Produktangebot.

Ihr direkter Weg zu unseren Spezialisten

Noch Fragen? Dann wenden Sie sich zu allen Themen rund um die Optimierung Ihrer Zustandsüberwachung an unsere Experten. Per Telefon, E-Mail oder über das Kontaktformular auf dieser Seite.

ASK THE EXPERT

Dr. Bernhard Grimm | Director Vertical Marketing, Business Unit Automation Systems

Bitte wählen Sie eine Anrede aus

Bitte tragen Sie Ihren Vornamen ein

Bitte tragen Sie Ihren Nachnamen ein

Bitte tragen Sie Ihr Unternehmen ein

Bitte tragen Sie Ihre E-Mail-Adresse ein

Bitte tragen Sie Ihre Telefonnummer ein

Bitte lesen Sie die Datenschutzbestimmungen und bestätigen Sie die Checkbox

* erforderlich

Besuchen Sie uns in Nürnberg!

Besuchen Sie uns in Nürnberg!

Vom 26. - 28. November 2019 ist Turck zu Gast auf der SPS, dem Messe-Highlight der Automatisierungsbranche. Wir freuen uns auf Ihren Besuch in Halle 7, an Stand 250.