Robot welding cells networked with Ethernet

IP67 switches reduce wiring and cycle times in tool change applications

Typical challenges in the networking of robot cells in car body construction are achieving short cycle times despite tool changes or transferring data from cameras so quickly that robots can be aligned and corrected during the running process. In addition, data traffic must be secure and the entire application must be maximally available.

Cut-through forwarding and GBit backbone for fast data throughput

The manageable Ethernet switch TBEN-L-SE-M2 transmits its data frames via cut-through forwarding. Thus it minimizes latency times, because the data transmission begins directly as soon as it is known where the frame is to be transmitted. IP cameras can also be used for robot guidance in the process - instead of checking the product quality afterwards. In addition, the switch with two GBit ports establishes a high-speed backbone as a fast data link to the controller.

Your Benefits

  • Fastest tool changes in less than 150 ms through high-speed link-up
  • Maximum security through firewall, NAT routing and VLAN
  • Fast data throughput thanks to GBit high-speed backbone and cut-through forwarding
  • High availability through network load monitoring and broadcast barrier
  • Minimal wiring required, as IP67 protection allows field mounting

  • Der Highspeed-Backbone sichert den Datentransfer zwischen Switches und Steuerung

  • Port-basierte IP-Adressvergabe zur Einrichtung in Ethernet/IP- und Standard-Ethernet-Netzwerken

  • Die Montage der Switches direkt im Feld minimiert den Verdrahtungsaufwand

  • Dank Multicast können mehrere Teilnehmer auf den Stream einer IP-Kamera zugreifen

Typical challenges in the networking of robot cells in car body construction are achieving short cycle times despite tool changes or transferring data from cameras so quickly that robots can be aligned and corrected during the running process. In addition, data traffic must be secure and the entire application must be maximally available.

Cut-through forwarding and GBit backbone for fast data throughput

The manageable Ethernet switch TBEN-L-SE-M2 transmits its data frames via cut-through forwarding. Thus it minimizes latency times, because the data transmission begins directly as soon as it is known where the frame is to be transmitted. IP cameras can also be used for robot guidance in the process - instead of checking the product quality afterwards. In addition, the switch with two GBit ports establishes a high-speed backbone as a fast data link to the controller.

The switch speeds up tool changes with the fastest link-up times. Ethernet/IP devices with Quick-Connect and Profinet devices with fast start-up are online in less than 150 milliseconds. Fast tool changes make it possible to use robots efficiently even with high product diversity.

High availability thanks to network load monitoring and broadcast storm protection

If the switches are running at the limit of their performance, this is usually not noticed or noticed too late. Nevertheless, this condition is critical for the availability of the system, as it can easily lead to memory overload and thus to network device failure. The integrated network load monitoring allows a port-based overview of how much bandwidth is still available as a reserve. In order to ensure that uncontrolled broadcast requests do not temporarily occupy the entire bandwidth of the network, the switch has integrated "Broadcast Storm Protection".

VLAN, firewall and NAT routing guarantee maximum network security 

Production and management networks can be separated via virtual networks (VLAN). This enables better control of access rights. In addition to the integrated firewall, the NAT routing function of the switch also provides increased security. NAT routing avoids conflicting IP addresses. Devices are then addressed via an alias IP, which also prevents manipulation and unauthorized access to devices.

Select Country

Turck Deutschland

Deutsch | English

Turck worldwide

Roboterschweißzellen mit Ethernet vernetzt

IP67-Switches reduzieren Verdrahtung und Taktzeiten in Wechselwerkzeugapplikationen

Typische Herausforderungen bei der Vernetzung von Roboterzellen im Karosseriebau bestehen darin, kurze Taktzeiten trotz Werkzeugwechseln zu erreichen oder Daten von Kameras so schnell zu übertragen, dass Roboter im laufenden Prozess ausgerichtet und korrigiert werden können. Zudem müssen der Datenverkehr sicher und die gesamte Applikation maximal verfügbar sein. 

Cut-through forwarding und GBit-Backbone für schnellen Datendurchsatz

Der managebare Ethernet-Switch TBEN-L-SE-M2 überträgt seine Daten-Frames per Cut-through forwarding. So minimiert er Latenzzeiten, weil direkt die Datenübertragung beginnt, sobald bekannt ist, wohin der Frame übertragen werden soll. So können IP-Kameras auch zur Roboterführung im Prozess eingesetzt werden – statt erst im Nachhinein die Produktqualität zu prüfen. Zudem etabliert der Switch mit zwei GBit-Ports ein Highspeed-Backbone als schnelle Datenleitung zur Steuerung.

Ihre Vorteile

  • Schnellste Wechselwerkzeug-Bereitstellung in unter 150 ms durch Quick-Link-up
  • Maximale Sicherheit durch Firewall, NAT Routing und VLAN
  • Schneller Datendurchsatz dank Gbit-Highspeed-Backbone und Cut-through forwarding
  • Hohe Verfügbarkeit durch Netzlast-Monitoring und Broadcast-Barriere
  • Minimaler Verdrahtungsaufwand, da Schutzart IP67 Montage im Feld erlaubt

  • Der Highspeed-Backbone sichert den Datentransfer zwischen Switches und Steuerung

  • Port-basierte IP-Adressvergabe zur Einrichtung in Ethernet/IP- und Standard-Ethernet-Netzwerken

  • Die Montage der Switches direkt im Feld minimiert den Verdrahtungsaufwand

  • Dank Multicast können mehrere Teilnehmer auf den Stream einer IP-Kamera zugreifen

Werkzeugwechsel beschleunigt der Switch durch schnellste Link-up-Zeiten. Ethernet/IP-Teilnehmer mit Quick-Connect und Profinet-Geräte mit Fast-Start-up sind in weniger als 150 Millisekunden online. Schnelle Werkzeugwechsel erlauben es, Roboter auch bei hoher Produktvarianz effizient einzusetzen.

Hohe Verfügbarkeit dank Netzlast-Monitoring und „Broadcast Storm Protection“

Wenn die Switches am Limit ihrer Leistungsfähigkeit laufen, fällt dies in der Regel nicht oder zu spät auf. Dennoch ist dieser Zustand kritisch für die Verfügbarkeit der Anlage, da es leicht zur Überlastung der Speicher und damit zum Ausfall von Netzwerkteilnehmern kommen kann. Das integrierte Netzlast-Monitoring erlaubt es, Port-basiert im Blick zu behalten, wie viel Bandbreite noch als Reserve verfügbar ist. Damit unkontrollierte Broadcast-Anfragen nicht vorübergehend die ganze Bandbreite des Netzwerks beanspruchen, verfügt der Switch über eine integrierte “Broadcast Storm Protection”.

VLAN, Firewall und NAT Routing garantieren maximale Netzwerksicherheit

Über virtuelle Netzwerke (VLAN) können Produktions- und Managementnetze getrennt werden. Das ermöglicht eine bessere Kontrolle von Zugriffsrechten. Neben der integrierten Firewall sorgt auch die NAT-Routing-Funktion des Switches für erhöhte Sicherheit. NAT Routing vermeidet konfligierende IP-Adressen. Die Teilnehmer werden dann über eine Alias-IP adressiert, was auch Manipulation und unbefugten Zugriff auf Geräte verhindert.

Land wählen

Turck Deutschland

Deutsch | English

Turck weltweit